DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 
     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!










Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Modern Chemistry
Publisher: LPJ Design
by Hamilton R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/22/2011 02:35:48
It's about drug use in your campaign -- it's not about combining chemicals to augment your character. Misleading at best.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Modern Chemistry
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wordplay The Big Five
Publisher: D101 Games
by Hamilton R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/08/2011 18:56:13
Wordplay is an excellent RPG generic system. The system works as if PDQ and (a very basic form of) Shadowrun had been smashed together into a single rulebook. The perfect combination of mechanics: simple enough to learn quickly, yet detailed enough to retain depth and scope. The price a little steep for the product, but it's not an unfair amount to pay.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Wordplay The Big Five
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

World vs. Hero
Publisher: Word Mill
by Hamilton R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/05/2011 02:00:20
World vs. Hero is a cinematic, random-draw system where events are listed and then drawn when needed. For the money: if you like to write narrative and you are creative, WVH is worth $7.00 and more! It's a really good approach to story-telling, but game mechanics are vague and limiting in certain genres.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
World vs. Hero
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

d6 Design Contest 2009
Publisher: Simian Circle Games
by Hamilton R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/05/2011 01:54:40
d6 Design is an eclectic collection of diverse games. Some you will like -- some you won't. It will be the rare soul that likes all the games, because of the variety of the lot. You should be aware of this fact when buying this product.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
d6 Design Contest 2009
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
I totally agree. The whole idea behind the 6d design project was to get some eclectic games to see the light of day. It's not everyday that you get an rpg that uses chocolate candies.
-U- The Game of Stories Core Rulebook
Publisher: A'n'SR Entertainments
by Hamilton R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/01/2011 01:28:03
The U game is a broad-spectrum, cinematic-style storytelling RPG. This book is an improvement over ANSR's last effort with this product,, but it still lacks a good layout and production-grade art. HOWEVER...

A basic over-view of the game: characters are created when players write a few notes about the type of hero that is desired. After that, some "dots" (points, chances) are applied to three common traits, some talents and items are purchased with CPs, and final details are filled in. That's basically it for characters; as for combat and story-telling, U makes these concepts a breeze to understand. If you like complex strategy and minute tactics, then stick with miniatures; if you like true role-playing with a modest amount of mechanics and detail, then U is perfect for story-telling and using your imagination.

The game itelf is a winner. Character creation is simple and quick, yet deceptively detailed and fun. The game mechanics are unique, with a little nod maybe to World of Darkness or Formless. Although the Story (World) Creation rules are skeletal and vague, I think I see the direction that ANSR is taking here -- they wanted to make a system that doesn't assume anything about the people who wil be playing U. They wanted to make a game that is playable and functional, one that doesn't get in the way of player creativity, one that is accesible due to its self-imposed limitations on the ruleset and it's economic price.

In other words, U was created to be learned, modified, enhanced, enjoyed and played! (Like I've said before -- better to spend $10 on something useful than spend $5 on something worthless ...)

At a price lower than $10, this is an EXCELLENT purchase, even with lackluster graphics. If you like simple game mechanics and easy-to-play rules for creating any world you can imagine, then U is the game for "you"!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
-U- The Game of Stories Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Peryton Fantasy Role-Playing Game
Publisher: Peryton Publishing
by Hamilton R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/17/2010 12:56:28
Peryton's gimmick is its Knack system, which is a good idea. The book has a decent layout; the cover is it's best art. Because it reads like ODaD, it inherits some of the problems of its "parent". There is some innovation here, but not enough to justify the cost if you already have a free copy of some other ODaD clone; save your money if this is so.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Peryton Fantasy Role-Playing Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

BEAN! The D2 RPG
Publisher: Fabled Worlds
by Hamilton R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/17/2010 12:51:54
Bean's game system is almost too simple; OK for a pick-up game but may not support long term play. Book has a good, solid, easy-to-understand layout. The game is easy to learn, fun to play. Bean is worth the price as long as it stays under 3.00. Your bean count (pardon the pun) may get a little high when tossing beans for results. (Need room to toss all those beans...)

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
BEAN! The D2 RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Little Fears Nightmare Edition
Publisher: FunSizedGames
by Hamilton R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/15/2010 05:10:44
Little Fears NE is a well-written, intense treatment of the "Scared of Monsters" Genre. The rules are detailed and generous; you must study this game in order to play it. LFNE will take effort, imagination, and creativity, but it's an organized, comprehensive game that "crunchy" players will enjoy. (I think I saw my shadow wave at me ... eeek!)

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Little Fears Nightmare Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

rpgKids (v1.5)
Publisher: Highmoon Games
by Hamilton R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/08/2010 03:15:45
I'll be honest: I didn't like this at all. It's sporadic and unorganized* , a juvenile attempt at designing a game (pardon the pun).

* When I say it's unorganized, I don't mean it has a poor layout or it's hard to understand. I mean that the information as presented is not easy for kids to understand as it stands; it seems to be more like an adult who understands rpgs will have to translate for his younger audience. (If you design a game for kids, make it easier to understand.) Sporadic means that you will use some of the information given, while you will rely on your base rpg to provide support. rpgKids sounds like it should stand on its own, when in fact, it does not.

Simply put, I could have "built one just like it in my garage" if I had been so inclined. So, why write a negative review like this? Answer: there are better ways to spend $3.

(Nothing personal, no offense meant -- it just doesn't seem like it's a product worth my money.)

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
rpgKids (v1.5)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Loom
Publisher: Silver Branch Games
by Hamilton R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/08/2010 03:06:46
Loom is a card-based, cinematic / narrative rpg. Since there are already excellent reviews of this game available, I would like to point out that customization will yield rich rewards if you put forth the effort. Also, the price to purchase this game is under $5; how can you beat that?

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Loom
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Strands of Fate
Publisher: Void Star Games
by Hamilton R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/25/2010 07:21:27
STRANDS OF FATE (SoF)
Description -- SoF is a cinematic rule system for playing virtually any game world or genre you can imagine. I have got to say that I am thoroughly impressed with this rule book, and I look forward to playing many game sessions using these rules.

Easy Rules -- The presentation of the rules is simple yet detailed, easy yet complete. There are a lot of options presented within the 13+ chapters of information, giving you a very maliable rule set to play your games with. The author wastes no time in explaining what the game is and how to play it. The rules are based on the FATE system using FUDGE dice, but you are also given the option of rolling 2d6 of different colors, much like the GRIMM system by FFG.

* I would like to add my own thought here on how to make rolling 2d6 more like rolling four FUDGE Dice. What you do is you roll the different-colored d6s, counting any "6"s rolled as a 1. This increases the chance of rolling a 1 on either die, and makes a better bell curve for rolling a median number. Plus, it ensures that the roll total never goes beyond ±4, thereby imulating what a FUDGE roll can acheive.

Never the less, the rules as presented won't need so much tweeking, as they will facilitate modification easily.

This is a solid rule set for playing cinematic RPGs (personally, I think most RPGs are cinematic. As SoF says, it's more interesting to have something FANTASTIC happen than it is to have something REAL happen in game play.

Fun to Play -- By implementing my own rules for solo role-playing, I was able to graft SoF into my own way of playing. This is a factor not found in many RPGs: most of them are too hard to remember all those mechanics and roll all those dice. SoF is so versatile, you can roll first and ask questions later, meaning that there is not a lot of heavy math involved in finding out what happens. Plus the addition of the Spin mechanic really makes the game shine, because this means that players will become more involved in game play as they roll -- which takes pressure off of the Host or the GM who's running the show...

Yes, Virginia -- I do believe this game will be fun to play!

Layout and Design -- Someone was paying attention and actually gave a d@#n about what they were doing when they designed this book. It is not too garish, yet it is decorated in detail. Each page has a nice border to it (or you can read the Printer Friendly version included). There is some sporadic art found here and there within the book: not too much, not too little. The font is easy to read on the computer, which means it's easy to read when printed, too. Thank you, Void Star, for being one publisher who pays attention to detail! Good layout indeed.

Worth the money -- SoF is worth every penny as a PDF. The printed / published versions seem to be fairly priced, though $45 for a hard-back book at 6x9 format seems a little steep. However, Void Star gives you a discount for getting both PDF and Hard-back, so it's not a bad deal.

This is a very good system to have in your collection, if you like cinematic story-telling games. I recommend getting the PDF at least!
(I will get a soft cover later next month for myself!)

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Strands of Fate
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Games for Goblins
Publisher: Vulpinoid Studios
by Hamilton R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/06/2010 12:26:28
Only one thing to say here -- Whiskey Tango Foxtrot!

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Games for Goblins
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Talespinner
Publisher: Thousandpress
by Hamilton R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/04/2010 15:12:27
Talespinner is an OK game, in great need of some TLC in the layout and art department. The mechanics are simple to understand because they are not detailed at all. It is truly a story-telling game.

For the price, it would be a good bargain IF you wanted to improve the layout and design. However, I rate things on value, so my conclusion is this:

an OK, cheap game which I will never play; wasted money and wasted time.

(I wish people would invest in doing good art and layout, so that it looks like they actually give a d@#n about what it is they are doing...)

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Talespinner
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Three Sixteen
Publisher: BoxNinja
by Hamilton R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/04/2010 15:05:11
3:16 CATS is a pleasant surprise for a small, independent, British-created RPG. It is exactly what the description says it is: no more, no less. The Layout is well done: simple, to the point, interesting to read. The art could have been better, but the gritty cartoons seem to convey the correct tone of the game. The game mechanics are easy to understand with the first reading; I will be anxious to play this game soon.
• 3:16 kind of brings Halo or Starship Troopers to mind when you imagine blasting big buggies in the middle of a deserted space station.

While I don't like the use of the F-word in most RPGs (I found over 4 uses in this book), never-the-less I understand what this game is supposed to be, so I am letting it slide as I rate this game what it deserves for the value paid.*

* = For 10 dollars, it's a little over-priced, but the game was a refreshing break from the normal RPG. I feel OK with the purchase.

Pick it up if you have 10 dollars to spare: if you like straight, to-the-point cinematic combat and fast dungeon crawling, all mixed up with fragging a plethora of space aliens with a blatant disregard to "sacred" life and ammunition limits (yuh, right), then this game is for you!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Three Sixteen
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Supermegatopia
Publisher: Team Frog
by Hamilton R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/04/2010 14:52:42
Supermegatopia uses anthropomorphized, super-hero animal characters in an urban setting -- that's the best thing I can say about this game. Most of the rulebook is cartoon comic pages, with some game mechanics thrown in for good measure. It says it's the HERO system, but it doesn't bear any resemblance of HERO that I can remember (you should know I haven't played HERO in about 25 years, though).

Over-priced; wasted money; never will use it.

Needs more work to be a game, not a comic book. (The Art is good for what it is; Layout is OK.)

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Supermegatopia
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 16 to 30 (of 69 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
 Cart
0 items
 Publisher Info
Signal 13
Signal 13
Publisher Average Rating

See All Reviews
Publisher Homepage
Other products (2)
 Gift Certificates
Get Your Favorite Gamers What They REALLY Want...
$10 Gift Certificate