DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Mythic Monsters: Giants
Publisher: Legendary Games
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/11/2014 09:03:02
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This installment of the Mythic Monsters-series clocks in at 30 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page blank inside front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page SRD, 1 page ToC, 2 pages of introduction/how-to use, 2 pages of advertisement, 1 page inside back cover, 1 page back cover, leaving us with 19 pages of content, so let's take a look!





Okay, so this one has a problem - giants frankly suck in Pathfinder - their rock throwing is bad, they can be brought down by sleep and there are no rules for properly falling on PCs, squashing them - thankfully, this installment of Mythic Monsters addresses just these issues - hurling rocks at squares, squashing foes by falling on them, resiliency to spells and effects specifically targeting humanoids, ignoring difficult terrain - I hope Paizo takes a cue from these for the upcoming Giantslayer AP! I know I'll add these to all giants I throw at my players!



We also receive 4 new feats for awesome blows at range via boulders, power attack via boulders and even rolling them towards the players - nice!



Okay, this parts out of the way, let's take a look at those giants, shall we? At the lowest echelons of the power-scale, we receive Moss Trolls and Freshwater Merrow, with the former receiving an increasing, extremely lethal regeneration and the latter receiving a hooked harpoon, including ranged grappling/draging of foes. The CDR 7/MR 3 Saltwater Merrow also receives these, btw. - and great tossing of foes overboard and destroying ships. While I do enjoy the moss troll and saltwater merrow, its freshwater brethren feels a bit bland in direct comparison.



At CR 6/MR 2, the Brute Wight may demoralize with his attacks and throw tombstones and similar rocks, causing energy drain - nice imagery! The CR 7/MR 3 Rock Troll may avoid the sunlight petrification temporarily via mythic power and also has his lesser moss brethren's superb reflexive regeneration - still, I wished these guys had gotten even more beyond their fortification and increased defenses.



The Stone Giant Elder at CR 11/MR 4 can enter a rage-like, reach-increasing form and throw boulders that smash through any resistance in the path of the stone giant's throw to the maximum range. Neat!



Now quite a few of these giants, like their mythic draconic brethren, also have the "giant" simple template applied - the Frost Giant (CR 12/ MR 4), Cloud Giants (CR 14/MR 5) and Storm Giants (CR 17/MR 6) all receive this treatment. It should be noted, that a non templated version of the stats is provided for the Frost Giant, but not for his brethren, which is a pity. Frost giants get truly lethal shockwaves and an aura of numbing cold, whereas cloud giants make use of a mythic feat from Mythic Minis: Feats for Monsters (reprinted here) and may coalesce and shape clouds into solid terrain and beyond the theme of erecting literal castles in the sky, the fee-fie-foe-fum smelling of smaller creatures is also represented here. Storm Giant Elder, meanwhile, learn to ride the lightning, may grant storm-themed enhancements to weaponry and meld electricity with thunder. Now I have that Tiamat-song ringing in my head again...



The CR 15/MR 6 Athach may use mythic power to instantly tear pinned foes asunder (YEAH!) and exact stunning and even melee countering tricks with their claws - glorious build, cool tricks, two thumbs up!



The CR 22/MR 9 Rune Giant receives improved giant control, permanently blind those witnessing their runes, blast foes with showers of deadly sparks from their runes and parry/parry-sunder melee attacks. I'm generally no fan of competing atk-rolls, so not sold there. Weirdly, a version with the Giant-template is provided here, but adheres to a different layout format than the other instances of the thing showing up.



The CR 18/MR 7 Jotund Troll receives once again the cool reflexive regeneration and a confusion-inducing roar, but otherwise could have used a unique trick to reflect its heritage. This one disappointed me somewhat.



The new creature of this book would be Angurboda, at CR 13/MR 5 could be summed up as a nasty giant witch with lamashtan influences - a gigantic mother of monsters, complete with cauldron, evil eye, etc. - she can gestate swiftly and generate a vast array of creatures - a more deadly opponent than her CR would suggest and one of the most awesome unique creatures in the series - and that's saying something! The proper and extensive information on habitat, ecology etc. are the icing on this creature's awesome cake - two thumbs up!



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are very good, though I noticed some formatting inconsistencies in layout. Layout adheres to legendary Games' two-column full-color standard and the two pieces of original art are neat indeed. The pdf lacks bookmarks, which is a comfort detriment.



Jason Nelson, Tom Philips and Alistair Rigg have crafted some nasty giants...and they leave me torn like no Mythic Monsters-pdf before. I do love the inclusion of non-templated versions, I'm not a fan of this practice not being uniform. I love the super-regeneration for trolls, but think they overall got the short end of the stick regarding cool abilities. The giants themselves are nice, but the two best draws herein would be the new creature and the material in the beginning that makes giants work as they ought to. These two pieces of content alone are almost worth the book - they're this awesome. That being said, my impression was that these giants have a bit more blank space on some pages than they ought to and quite honestly, I feel that some of them could have used some additional tricks.



All Mythic Monster pdfs are at least good, most are very good/excellent. This one alternatively moves among the best and among the "worst" of the series (which translates to only being good/okay), rendering a finding a final verdict a tricky business. In the end, this one felt, in spite of its brilliant highlights, somewhat less glorious than some other installments of the series and with the slightly less polished formatting and generally uninspired trolls. I will hence settle for a final verdict of 3.5 stars, rounded up to 4 for the purpose of this platform - though any aficionado of giants should get this for the alternate rules and the new creature alone - they're worth the asking price by themselves!

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Monsters: Giants
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mythic Monsters: Dragons
Publisher: Legendary Games
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/07/2014 07:24:10
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This installment of the Mythic Monsters-series clocks in at 34 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page blank inside front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page SRD, 1 page ToC, 2 pages of introduction/how-to use, 1 page advertisement, 1 page inside back cover, 1 page back cover, leaving us with 24 pages of content, so let's take a look!



As has become the tradition with Mythic Monster-supplements, this one also offers us some supplemental pieces of content, this time in the guise of 10 draconic mythic feats - these allow the dragons in question to suppress energy vulnerabilities - and I really like these - with e.g. empowering effects, added negative conditions or added dispel effect, they felt like a neat nod towards the metabreath feats provided in 3.X's Draconomicon. Beyond these, feats to prevent escape from the claws of dragons and truly lethal bite attacks are possible as well - great feats to make these dragons deadly indeed - though it should be mentioned that Con 19 and breath weapon are the main requirements here, so other monsters can potentially benefit from these as well. Personally, I think the feats should be kept out of the hands of players with breath weapons, even in a mythic game.



But enough about that, let's check out these dragons, shall we? At the lowest end of the spectrum, at CR 2/MR 1, we are introduced to the mythic pseudodragon are able to tap into the collective unconsciousness of dragonkind to unearth secrets and treat dragons as favored enemy. A prime example that even MR 1 mythic creatures can be damn cool!



Fans of drakes will have a field day here - At CR 7/MR 3(Flame Drake), CR 6/MR 2 (forest drake), both coming with vastly increased speed and auras of soot/forest mastery, they are solid, but fall behind their CR 10/MR 4 Frost Drake brethren, who gets a unique modification of their breath weapon to have it linger AND duplicate a miniature blizzard - cool! The CR 8/MR 3 Sea Drake also receives a cool modification that clouds targets of their breath with St. Elmo's fire and they also receive additional electricity charges with their tail attacks.



At CR 8/MR 3, the mythic dracolisk receives a cool ability that allows them to truly effectively destroy petrified foes. The smallest of the true dragons provided would be the Giant mythic juvenile blue dragon at CR 13/MR 5 -and how awesome is this guy - breath into the floor to animate the ground into an array of swarms of construct snakes? Heck YES! Bending breath weapons in degrees up to 90°? Yeah! What about tremorsense plus superb stealth on sand? Worthy of a dragon indeed, even before the literally thundering charge!



The Green Dragons are represented in the adult category at CR 16/MR 6 and receive poisonous spittle, mind fog-inducing gas and essentially are the masters of negative conditions stacking via breath weapons - as they should be: Fear the breath weapons, puny adventurers! Of course, there are also true apex predator dragons, worthy of campaign endgames - Ancient Blacks clock in at CR 21/MR 8 and exude a debilitating stench, can add entangle effects to the breath, receive reflexive spines that damage those trying to hit them and they even may use mythic power to inflict diseases on foes bitten. Interesting - summoned forth creatures can be made into a kind of living shield for the dragon...nasty!



At CR 23/MR 9, the Great Wyrm white dragon also adds nasty conditions to their breath, receive a freezing, deadly variant of acid fog and their walls of ice are truly massive - and that, before imprisonment ice tombs. Have I mentioned that their scales are so cold, they may shatter weapons or that their tramples may literally cause avalanches when erupting via burrow speed? What about an alternate, beam-like breath weapon that may ignore immunities via mythic power and offers no save - ouch!



Finally, as is the tradition - the king, ladies and gentlemen, at CR 27/MR 10 - the Great Wyrm Red can eliminate fire resistance/immunities, ignores ability damage/negative levels etc. up to an extent due to draconic fortitude, force mortals to do his bidding with nary a glance and has, due to jewels and gold in the coat, a mythic fortification effect going - oh, and his gaze can be a true seeing/faerie fire-combo and the breath may melt rock, creating lava. Yeah! Glorious, deadly, awesome!



The CR 26/MR 10 Tor Linnorm also belongs into this emperor-level class of foes - reflexive fast healing, remaining active until -390 hit points (!!!), animating magma as deadly elementals and searing scales etc. make for a cool, surprisingly different build for such a fire-.based draconic brute - kudos here!



As always, we also receive a unique, new creature with the Fell Drake at CR 12/MR 5 - these drakes evolved in the realms of necromancer kings long gone, adapting to working with undead and ghosts and would make for superb mounts for the Nazghûl or similar undead - those that rouse the ire of the creatures can easily be driven from the saddle, though and synergy between e.g. frightful moans of mount and rider make for a cool idea.



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are very good, I didn't notice any significant glitches. Layout adheres to Legendary Games' 2-column full-color standard for the series and the module's 2 pieces of original artwork are nice. The pdf has no bookmarks, but at least a hyperlinked ToC, which is still a comfort detriment compared to proper bookmarks.



Jason Nelson's dragons have probably the hardest legacy to hit a creature type can have - I'm a vocal friend of the notion that dragons ought to be truly frightening, deadly and make the PCs shake their boots. Dragons should never be disposable...or bland. Thankfully, the true, massive dragons are just...glorious! They are beauties, with superb, unique abilities, massive, huge statblocks and just style and panache galore. While the drakes are also nice, they fall behind the full-blown dragon's in style and coolness - and know what? For once, I'm very much okay with that. Why? Because, in my opinion, it's intentional. It is obvious that Legendary Games mastermind Jason Nelson can make those glorious abilities - he literally plastered the true dragons with them. The thing is - drakes are supposed to be the smaller, less awe-inspiring brethren of the true dragons and while the new abilities reflect that, they still are iconic and cool - and as such, I consider the distinction well wrought. The new creature will see much use in different tables, though personally, I have to admit the fluff etc. feels more like a template than a creature to me.



Oh well, the scaly lord is eyeing me right now and I already have these colored flames dancing on me, so I better wrap this up before he incinerates me... These dragons are awesome. their builds are deadly and massive and while I would have loved one book on dragons, one on drakes, one on linnorms, one cannot always have everything, can one? Since I found at least one, often more components in each creature I really, really loved, I'll settle on a final verdict of 5 stars + seal of approval, in spite of the missing bookmarks.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Monsters: Dragons
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Treasures of NeoExodus: Twin Furies (PFRPG)
Publisher: LPJ Design
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/07/2014 07:21:17
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This installment of the Treasures of NeoExodus-series clocks in at 4 pages, 1 page of SRD/editorial, 1/2 a page advertisement, leaving us with 2.5 pages of content, so let's take a look!



The Twin Furies are two kamas crafted for the vile religion of Khayne and as such have interesting abilities - one is a +1furyborn kama, one is a +2 vicious kama that only deals nonlethal damage to followers of Khayne. The dread weapons make the wielder harder to intimidate and when used in conjunction in a full attack (or flurry), and both weapons hit, the wielder may also execute a rend attack.



The pdf comes with item-cards for the Twin Furies.



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are very good, I noticed no glitches. Layout adheres to LPJr Design's drop-dead-gorgeous 2-column full-color standard and the pdf features a glorious original artwork of the weapon. The pdf comes in a more printer-friendly full-color version as well and while both pdfs have no bookmarks, at this length they need none.



Jeff Lee's Twin Furies are nice weapons with unique options, but they fall a bit behind the last, glorious installment of the series - it's a nice pair of weapons, but not one that blew my socks off. A good installment of the series, well worth a final verdict of 4 stars.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Treasures of NeoExodus: Twin Furies (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Blackshire Mercenary Company
Publisher: Necromancers of the Northwest
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/05/2014 06:56:55
An Endzeitgeist.com review



This pdf is 32 pages long, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page SRD and 1 page back cover, leaving 28 pages of content, so let's check these mercenaries out!

After an introduction to the mercenary company and some adventure outlines/plot hooks, we get information on hiring the mercenaries for" active" or "passive" duties (i.e. guard duty vs. adventuring/preventing assassinations) as well as information to joining the Blackshire Mercenaries, improving one's standing in the guild as well as how jobs are granted to soldiers and spending influence in the guild. I.e. we actually get tables and information on how to both gain influence and on how to spend it/what benefits you can get in the guild.

So what is the guild and how does it work? In a work of dire rat infestations, marauding wyvern and vicious orc press gangs, adventurers always can find work. What, however, if none of these specialists are available? What if one has already been betrayed by powerful adventurers and thus rather want specialists who may ask for a steep price, but adhere to professional work ethics? That's what the Blackshire Company is for. Driven by pragmatism and a desire to earn money and get the job done rather than adhere to chivalrous codes of honor and conduct, they are hardened, grizzled and yet uncompromising problem-solvers. Depending on the level of the member and the amount of influence one has, specific benefits are available, lending using the guild towards e.g. prolonged campaigns with PCs getting ranks in the guild.

The guild also gets its own Prestige Class (to join, you of course have to have sufficient influence with the guild), the Blackshire Exemplar.
The 10-level-PrC gets d10, 2+Int skills per levels, a good BAB-progression, a medium fort-save and centers around professionalism-abilities like immunity to fear and can learn from a list of 13 special guild maneuvers. The guild maneuvers are powerful, but adequately represent the fighting style of the guild. Their capstone-ability lets them make a full attack as a standard action, though. OUCH. This ability, even for a capstone-ability feels rather powerful and lends itself to potential abuse. They also come with a lore-section.

Next up in the book are the sample NPCs:
The section contains three dwarven brothers that learned to expertly coordinate their effort, an example of an evil as well as an example of a good chapter-head, a duelist-style fighter, a low-level thug and a legend among the companies.

-Dennai Battleshield (Dwarf Fighter 7/ Stalwart Defender 2)
-Dorbin Battleshield (Dwarf Fighter 7)
-Dragor Battleshield (Dwarf Fighter 7)
-Helgar "the Butcher" Bailey (Human Fighter 10)
-Percival Callahan (Human Paladin 10)
-Rolando (Human fighter 7/ranger 6/blackshire exemplar 4)
-Sophia Ironblade (Fighter 10)
-Tolbin Denny (Rogue 4)

Conclusion:
The organization per se is very well presented - you can easily imagine this very capitalistic and professional approach to being mercenaries. The company can serve as anything you'd like - as foils for the PCs, as allies, as a home away from home or as all of the above. Presentation of the benefits and tracking rank in the guild rock and are detailed enough to be of use even to the most novice of DMs. The company can easily be dropped in into just about ANY campaign and is sufficiently modular. I'll go even so far as to propose that they make a nice elite-order in rather low-magic settings. However, there are also some downsides to this file: While I like the Blackshire Exemplar class, I think that the capstone ability is too strong and I would have loved to see more guild techniques. The NPCs, while well-designed and with some APG-support, did not necessarily impress me that much - on the one side, they may be well-crafted, but somehow they felt a bit unspecific and don't come with their rank specified in the guild. I also would have loved to see stats for the 3 leaders of the guild. Another problem is, that while the company is easy to implement and is well and extensively detailed, but it somehow lacks iconic powers and also feels generic in the negative sense. The short write-up of the Blackblade mercenary organization from RiP' s "Elspeth Blackblade" somehow felt more compelling to me.
Editing is top-notch, I didn't notice any mistakes. Layout is fine, too, although it adheres to the used-parchment-look of NWN, thus being not too printer-friendly. The mostly public domain art fits the topic. Formatting is nice, there is only one glitch of a line in the last stat-block - half of one line is hidden beneath another line. The pdf is extensively bookmarked.

My final verdict for this pdf will take the low price and the amount of content into account. Due to the formatting glitch and the minor problems I encountered, I'd usually settle for 3.5 stars, rounded down to 3. However, I couldn't name a single "Guild"-book apart from this one and it is well-crafted for a VERY low price. Thus, I'll round my final verdict up to 4 - it's good to see a fully-detailed and professionally presented guild out there, even if it is a rather generic one. I hope to see more.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Blackshire Mercenary Company
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Genius Guide to the Talented Ranger
Publisher: Rogue Genius Games
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/05/2014 04:31:22
An Endzeitgeist.com review

The latest in Rogue Genius Games' much beloved restructuring of base classes to become more versatile and modular, this one clocks in at 41 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page SRD, leaving us with 38 (!!!) pages of content, so let's take a look, shall we?



So basically, the framework remains the same - full BAB-progression, good ref- and fort-saves, d10, 6+Int skills per level, proficiency with light and medium armors and shields and simple and martial weapons. Okay. let me go out on a whim here - Rangers and their spell-less brethren from Kobold Press are very popular in my group - why? Because they are melee guys with decent skills - they can be the smart investigators, urban hunters etc. Much like their other talented brethren, the talented ranger has now all its class options streamlined into edges, talents etc., allowing you full-blown customization of the class.



The Talented Ranger receives an edge at 1st -3rd level, 2 edges at 4th, and +1 at 7th, 9th, 10th, 13th and 20th level. They also start the game with 2 ranger talents and select additional talents starting 3rd level at every level with the exception of the 4th and 9th level. At 10th level, advanced talents are unlocked and the ranger receives two talents. He also receives 2 at 18th level and finally, at 20th level, the capstone Grand Talents are unlocked. If you need an explanation of edges/talents, please check one of my earlier reviews of talented classes.



That being said, the class, much like its barbarian brethren, does boil down the class to its basic concepts - adaptability being the key word here. While a kind of growing-into the respective roles/concepts is maintained in the design of the talented ranger, the way in which this is done can very much be considered interesting: Spellcasting progression, and yes, druid and arcane spellcasting, alchemist extracts etc. would be possible, for example, takes its toll on edges - subsequent spell levels require investment - they do not adhere to the usual, linear progression. Another issue the pdf elegantly circumvents would be favored enemy - easily the blandest of bonuses from the base class, many archetypes exchange it and thus, in a talented context, the stacking of bonuses of favored enemy-ish abilities and those usually exchanged for it, has been prevented by instead using the "favored enemy" bonus as a smart way of circumventing the issue.



Speaking of interesting options - would you rather bond with e.g. a weapon rather than an animal? Yes, this one would be possible. Now that would btw. be not all - some of these even have a massive array of sub-options and yes, ranger traps are also part of the deal here.



The talents provide further, massive customization options - and yes, there are some "hidden" trees in here, but much less than in the installment on the cavalier, for example. Terrain Mastery et al., Urban ranger trickery and the like are possible, and planning the progression of your talented ranger properly is an interesting endeavor - also due to the inability to break combat styles - the final "trap" of this talented class would have been balancing the combat styles and maintaining the relative linearity without losing flexibility - and this the pdf also manages to achieve. Among the advanced talents and capstones, wildcard edges (as a capstone) and similar tricks are in here as well - here and there, the unique possibilities of this reboot of the ranger receive their own, unique abilities - lending a distinct identity to the class beyond the default ranger, much like how the talented barbarian can be so much more than the frothing brute.



It should be noted that 2 pages of lists of talents by type/thematic group make selection of these easier.



Conclusion:



Editing and formatting are top-notch, I noticed no significant glitches. Layout adheres to Rogue Genius Games' two-column full-color standard with Jacob Blackmon's glorious cover receiving a full-page spread as well. The pdf comes with massive, nested bookmarks for just about everything and the pdf comes also hyperlinked for your convenience.



I do not envy Owen K.C. Stephens the task of creating the talented classes - doing their math, checking combinations - even to write a review for one of these beasts tends to be A LOT of work and tinkering and taking apart the more linear classes without breaking them is not easy. The Talented Ranger is a prime example in this tradition, and while, much like the barbarian, I do not think we actually *needed* a talented ranger, the end result is so distinct, so potentially different, that even in the campaigns of people like yours truly who do not have an issue with the base ranger, the talented ranger makes for a versatile, cool addition. It simply has a massive array of new options and combinations available - my final verdict will hence clock in at 5 stars + seal of approval.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Genius Guide to the Talented Ranger
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Blood & Steel, Book 1 - The Fighter (PFRPG)
Publisher: d20pfsrd.com
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/05/2014 04:26:20
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This pdf clocks in at 31 pages of content, 1 page front cover, 1 page ToC, 1 page SRD, 1 page "Thank you"-note, leaving us with 27 pages of content, so let's take a look!



The first archetype herein would be the Beast Hunter, who replaces medium, heavy armor proficiency and tower shields with bola, lasso, mancatcher and net and also actually make these subpar weapon choices rather valid with increased range, concentration DCs of those caught and even capture larger adversaries - the archetype and its focus on catching creatures via uncommon weaponry is AWESOME. It's simple, elegant and nice. Personally, I would have preferred more tricks here or some special talents, but the archetype is more than functional in that it provides options for a build previously unsupported.



The Gun Fighter, the second archetype herein, can be considered a type of gunslinger light - more realistic and down-to-earth: No deeds, no faster reloading etc. - a working fighter with firearm focus, if not a perfect one - for groups looking for a more low-powered approach to firearms, the archetype definitely works - so design goal achieved.



Third would be the harpooner, taking a new take on the harpoon (complete with entangled foes, penalty on subsequent attacks etc.) and making a weapon specialist for it - further penalizing foes, cover by water, tying off harpoons at higher level to keep hands free - a cool specialist archetype overall, though one that could use some drag-combat maneuver love...still, won't hold that against the pdf.



The Highborn Fighter, essentially the niche that the cavalier was supposed to fill, can also be filled by archetype of said name - beyond proficiency with sword-canes et al, these guys use cha instead of dex to calculate ref-saves etc. - and would also receive cha-bonus to damage. And here I'd be complaining, were it not for the smart decision to scale the maximum bonus. Nice and definitely something I'll scavenge for talented classes etc. Kudos!



The Iaidoka Master is a master of feinting and quick first attacks - solid one, but somewhat lacking in the department that provides truly unique options. The Navaja is also a little archetype, but a great one - specific weapons, mostly subpar choices like daggers, can benefit from increased damage output and the navaja may stick knifes in foes and let them inside to accumulate debuff-effects on the pincushion'd foe.



The Siege Engineer is a must-have in war-themed campaigns and a great option as a cohort - as a master of the truly big weaponry, The biggest achievement here, though, would be that played a siege weapon master isn't boring - the option to be more efficient and commandeer multiple siege weapons makes for rewarding gameplay even for PCs. While surely not perfect for every campaign, it is awesome for some and quite probably worth the whole book if you're looking for a character like that.



The thrower is a throwing specialist archetype that gains increased reach and damage output to offset the base weapon's. While I'm not big on ranged combat maneuvers, 15th level is sufficiently late to not make this an issue. Okay, I guess.



The final archetype would be Wicked Wrecker, a specialist in using armor spikes and bull rushing/grappling foes to smithereens and even cobble foes with those moved away via bull rushes - again: Cool option for an underutilized weapon-type.



A total of 19 new feats can also be found within these pages - changing direction when charging, bola feat tree (including flight-impeding bolas that temporarily can send foes crashing down), bracing against foes that have moved 10 feet (not only against chargers), making sundered armor truly impede their wearers, damaging adjacent structures faster drawing of hidden/concealed weaponry, better saves versus identified spells or what about increased chances to perceive foes while sleeping - quite an array of interesting feats are assembled here.



Beyond these feats, we also get weaponized parasols, aforementioned harpoon that actually works and lantern shields make for neat mundane items, while a collection of 12 magical items, from dimensional bolas to mud bombs and anti-object grenades add nice notes.



In the spirit of 3pp-camraderie, some great excerpts from 101 Magical Armor and Shield Properties and 101 Magical Weapon Properties by Rite Publishing are provided as a bonus.



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are very good, I noticed no significant glitches. Layout adheres to a neat 2-column full color standard with thematically fitting stock art. The pdf comes hyperlinked and bookmarked for your convenience.



Taylor Hubler, John Reyst and Jason Linker deliver a book full of highly uncommon fighter niche builds - and they work. And they are cool. I was honestly surprised, but this book actually proved to be rather cool, offering some unique and fun options I'm sure to use in the future - and sometimes, like in the case of the Navaja, the concepts even are downright awesome and deserve accolades. That being said, at the same time, there are a few archetypes herein that don't have that much going for them beyond their gimmick, which is a bit of a pity - just about every niche-weapon-style just asks for more tools, more abilities etc. - and that's a GOOD thing here - it means the basic archetypes do a good basic job, one that can be expanded in future releases. The content herein inspires to create more, to make the individual basic systems of the archetypes even more diverse -and that is an achievement indeed. Making harpoons, dagger-fighters etc. NOT suck is a neat achievement for this humble pdf. I did not expect this pdf to be as compelling as it turned out to be - after so many fighter-supplements, it's hard to provide something new and this one zooms in on many fringe-cases and options and makes them better - and for that, this pdf, in spite of some archetypes not being that interesting, has a majority of options that are downright cool. Hence, my final verdict will clock in at 4.5 stars, rounded up to 5 for the purpose of this platform.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood & Steel, Book 1 - The Fighter (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Sinking: Beneath the Shadowheart
Publisher: 0one Games
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/05/2014 04:23:30
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This installment of the Sinking-mini-modules clocks in at 21 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page SRD, 1 page editorial, 1 page ToC, 2 pages of advertisement, 1 page back cover, leaving us with 14 pages of content, so let's take a look!



This being an adventure-review, the following contains SPOILERS. Potential players may wish to jump to the conclusion.



Still here? All right!

After a two-module spanning furious escape from the City into the holds of the enigmatic, xenophobic Kalks, the PCs have deserved a breather - alas, no rest for the wicked: One of Senator Vulgrax allies, bloodied and beaten, manages to find his way into the PC's sanctuary - and his tidings do not bode well. The poor sap has tried to escape via the shadowheart, one of the outskirts of the notorious Dungeon Under the Mountain - for the Trypus has quarantined the area around the sinkhole, collecting dissidents - and now, execution may be eminent.



It does look like the PCs will be on the hunt through the shadowheart to enter the city and prevent the worst -hence, the following excursion through the tunnels is a fast-paced dungeon-crawl (featuring lavishly cartographed, player-friendly maps) through the doppelganger-infested tunnels - only to find a perished creature that may spawn a dread new type of undead. The Crusader Tavern and the crackdown of the Kharel on the place coincides with the PCs re-entering the city and from there on, they better be on their way towards the compound - where gathering information finally becomes possible - the strange plans the Trypus hatched and the true nature of the sinkhole - provided the PCs can get in fast and get out again, Vulgrax may actually, with the information, finally provide some answers...



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are very good, I noticed no significant issues. Layout adheres to a 2-column b/w-standard and the pdf comes with cool, original b/w-artworks and 0onegame's great cartography. The pdf comes extensively bookmarked for your convenience.



Tim Hitchcock's Beneath the Shadowheart starts off slow with and then turns into a cool "behind enemy lines/enemy of the state"-scenario that is quite an awesome set-up for the things to come - add to that the neat hazards and creatures and we get a cool module indeed, if one that in my opinion could have used slightly more information on the security procedures. Still, a great module for an almost unbeatable price and well worth 4.5 stars, rounded up to 5 for the purpose of this platform.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Sinking: Beneath the Shadowheart
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Underworld Races: Funglet
Publisher: AAW Games
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/04/2014 04:27:48
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This supplement clocks in at 21 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page ToC, 1 page SRD, 1 page back cover, leaving us with 16 pages of content, so let's take a look!



As with the other installments of the Underworld races-series, this one kicks off with a massive mythology of the subterranean races, a collective origin history that can be potentially transplanted from Aventyr into other settings, should one choose to do so. From there on, the funglets and their variants are described in evocative details that goes beyond the thankfully present age, height & weight tables before we delve into the racial traits of the funglets.



Funglets receive+2 Con and Int, Wis or Cha depending on the subtype and also -2 to Str and Dex. They are large plants with a base speed of 20 ft., have a reach of 10 ft, low-light vision, darkvision 90 ft and are dazzled in bright light, automatically also incurring a -2 penalty to all saves versus spells and effects with the light descriptor. They also receive a +1 natural armor bonus and a vulnerability to fire. Now I've mentioned subtypes - Audirefunglets receive +2 to Wis, Fantafunglets have a base speed of 30 feet, +2 natural armor bonus and +2 to Int and Maculasfunglets increase natural armor bonus to +2, +2 to Cha and are poisonous, weakening foes and damaging str.



Funglets also receive an extensive array of favored class options for just about all classes and we also receive information on fungal jungles. The material Boletann also deserves special mention - crafted from specially treated fungi, this material nets its wearers DR and acid resistance and makes for a cool, weird option to add to one's arsenal. A total of 6 specific feats are also provided for funglets to expand their racial options: Vomiting forth poison or generating blooms of poisonous spores, burying one's roots into the soil or duplicating tree shape and receiving improved capabilities regarding grappling and similar combat maneuvers via lianas or even handling small objects via these tendrils - a cool all killer, no filler array of stylish feats.



Now if that wasn't cool enough, what about a great array of new fungoid symbiotic suits that you can wear? And then, there's the mushroom domain - beyond fungal strides, this domain has one thoroughly iconic ability: Making caps of exploding shrooms that you can throw at your adversaries. No, I'm not kidding. Now if this is not enough - the respective exclusive spells the supplement offers is all killer...+1. Medicinal Mushrooms? Yep. What about melding your legs with a massive mushroom trunk and jump across the battlefield, ignoring (and not provoking) AoOs in one of the coolest modus-style-spells I've seen in any iteration of a d20-based system. It should also be noted that the offensive fungal spells, including carnivorous shrooms provide iconic imagery and that a massive mushroom apotheosis even comes with a cool little table of shroom-types generated. My one gripe here would be that the pdf does not provide the fungal alchemy and actual effects of these shrooms.



The pdf does conclude with the glorious CR 10 Fungal Golem as a brutal, deadly, cool adversary that includes all the information on construction et al.



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are very good, I noticed no significant glitches, though a couple of bolding and similar minor glitches can be found herein. Layout adheres to a drop-dead-gorgeous two-column full-color standard with rocky borders and awesome graphic elements, making this a beautiful, if not very printer-friendly pdf. The plentiful original pieces of full color artwork throughout the pdf are nice. The pdf also comes fully bookmarked for your convenience.



Mike Myler and Julian Neale's Funglets are AWESOME. That's it. Get this. Now. Need it more detailed? All right. This may be a short pdf, but there is not ONE piece of lame or boring content herein. The feats do iconic things. The Funglets may be powerful, but still remain balanced choices that won't break default racial power levels. Add to that the cool critter, the simply superb mushroom domain, and we have a great supplement that literally is all killer, no filler. Well worth 5 stars + seal of approval.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Underworld Races: Funglet
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

#30 Mercenary Companies (PFRPG)
Publisher: Rite Publishing
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/04/2014 04:25:03
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This supplement clocks in at 23 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page SRD and 2 pages of advertisements, leaving us with 18 pages of content, so let's take a look!



I *love* Ultimate Campaign. It's one of my most favorite PFRPG-books and I just don't get why, in spite of Legendary Games' expansions being rather popular, there hasn't been that much support for e.g. kingdom-building, mass combat and downtime rules. And here we go to partially remedy that conundrum - Liz Smith delivers a total of 30 different mercenary companies as armies to drop and insert into your campaign - which btw. includes mixed population-rules for companies.



The respective company statblocks feature information on the respective resources, banners and even come with lore-DC and proper descriptions of the armies in addition to the basic army statblocks for the companies. Now what makes these entries actually nice to read beyond the crunch would be the fact that the descriptions are provided in well-written in-character prose a DM can easily paraphrase to introduce the companies into his/her game.



From cadres of vile killers to buccaneers, chivalrous knights, dwarven cavalry and even a cadre of guardian lycanthropes that demand their tithe in the old and sick, the pdf's respective companies run the gamut from uncommon and at times, even suffused with a very subtle rumor here and there - sorcerors, eagle + griffon riders...we receive a cool, diverse array of creatures herein.



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are very good, but not perfect - I noticed some minor glitches, but none that made the content harder to understand. The pdf comes fully bookmarked for your convenience and the pdf comes with thematically-fitting stock art that fits perfectly with the theme of the pdf.



Liz Smith delivers herein -with glorious sample units that not only provide statblocks, but also fluff and story-hooks galore - the armies herein are fun and unique and deliver hooks and ideas beyond the obvious utility of the statblocks. In the absence of complaints or the like and thanks to the great writing and more than fair price-point, I'll gladly settle on a final verdict of 5 stars + seal of approval for this pdf. Any campaign using mass combat should get these.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
#30 Mercenary Companies (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fat Goblin Travel Guide To The Frozen Tomb of the Dwarf Lord
Publisher: Fat Goblin Games
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/04/2014 04:22:04
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This installment of Fat Goblin Travel Guides clocks in at 12 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial/ToC, 1 page SRD, leaving us with 9 pages of content, so what do we get herein?



Essentially, we get a fully mapped location (map in full color, btw.) to drop into other adventures, as sidetreks, etc. The location sports a total of 7 keyed locations and while the full color map is beautiful, a player-friendly version sans keys would have been appreciated.



The terrain of the module itself is pretty well documented and the new hazard, essentially the magical equivalent of liquid nitrogen and a neat new CR 2 trap make for fine hazards. The 4 sample treasures that can potentially be found herein are also neat - a yeti-cloak, a lance that uses the mount's str-score, a charm that protects against ice damage - until it no longer works and instead can conjure forth an ice elemental...the items are flavorful and actually interesting!



We also get 3 new sample creature at Cr 4, 5 and 6 - and they come with cool signature abilities, gorgeous artworks...and minor or major errors in each statblock. Not only brackets at the wrong place in the block, we're also talking about damage output being incorrect and the like *sigh*



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting, on a formal level, are very good. On a rules-level, they could be better. Layout adheres to Fat Goblin Games' gorgeous two-column full-color standard and the pdf comes with stellar full color artwork and cartography as well as bookmarks.



The Tomb of the Dwarven Lord is a nice go-play insert location with a cool hazard (haha), okay terrain, a neat map and nice treasure. Alas, it also wastes 3 pages of its precious page-count on unnecessary monsters that sport errors. If you own *a lot* of the more obscure 3pp-offerings, you might also want to consider whether to get this, since, some components have seen the light of day before. *cough* Zeitgeist AP, Ronin Arts */cough*



That being said, I still think Rick Hershey has delivered a solid little sidetrek that is inexpensive and inoffensive enough to be considered an ok product for the fair price-point. Hence, my final verdict will clock in at 2.5 stars, rounded up to 3 for the purpose of this platform.


Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Fat Goblin Travel Guide To The Frozen Tomb of the Dwarf Lord
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Demiplanes: The Twilight Demesne
Publisher: Raging Swan Press
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/03/2014 06:05:54
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This installment in Raging Swan Press' new series detailing Demiplanes clocks in at 10 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page advertisement, 1 page editorial/ToC, 1 page SRD, 1 page back cover, leaving us with 5 pages of content, so let's take a look!



So what is the Twilight Demesne? Well, the easy answer would be that it's a truly dark forest - one wove from the Plane of Shadow and thus a fluif, self-contained place with normal gravity. Ingress and egress to the plane, planar traits (like enhanced light/darkness descriptor magic) and impeded magic - all covered.



Notable denizens and a lore-section as well as a 20-entry dressing table ensure that you have the tools to drive home that the players are not in Kansas anymore, often also utilizing mechanics beyond fluff - neato!



Beyond that, the starlight shrine, where petitioners can divine the future if they manage to parley with the enigmatic keeper (a fully statted CR 12 kitsune oracle) or brave the dangerous midnight labyrinth of folded spaces that brings new meaning to being lost in the woods, a grove, the permanently in darkness clad willow and its guardian... More beckons - take for example kytons that were subjected to the keeper's wrath, now remaining as dendrified, stunted and thorny trees or the true, enigmatic creator of the place that I won't spoil here...but seriously, what self-respecting adventurer can turn his/her back on a massive moon of jagged obsidian that contains a door of intricate clockwork locks and the things contained beyond this strange gate?



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are top-notch, I noticed no glitches. Layout adheres to Raging Swan Press printer-friendly two-column b/w standard and the pdf comes fully bookmarked for your convenience. The original cartography for the supplement is cool and the pdf comes in two versions - one optimized for screen-use and one for the printer.



Robert Brookes' Twilight Demesne sets a very high bar for a first demiplane - iconic, distinctive, with adventure hooks and ideas galore, a cool NPC and truly memorable imagery, this opens the series with a perceptible bang! At the low price, a true steal and a supplement that can easily be integrated into just about any campaign - well worth 5 stars + seal of approval!

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Demiplanes: The Twilight Demesne
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mythic Monsters: Fairy Tale Creatures
Publisher: Legendary Games
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/03/2014 06:03:33
An Endzeitgeist.com review of the revised edition

This installment of Legendary Games' Mythic Monsters-series clocks in at 30 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page blank inside front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page SRD, 1 page ToC, 2 pages of introduction on how to use, 1 page advertisement, 1 page blank inside back cover, 1 page back cover, leaving us with 20 pages of content, so let's check this out!

As has become the tradition with Mythic Monster-pdfs, we begin with supplemental information - which this time comes in the guise of mythic versions of fairy-tale associated spells - the call woodland beings variants and the faerie form spells and even the rather iconic fey crossroads spell receive a vast plethora of additional options, not only in the context of the mythic variants provided herein - two thumbs up!

Now the meat, of course, would be the fairy tale creatures provided herein -first f which would be the Mythic Banshee at CR 16/MR 6, who not only receives enhanced sonic tricks, despair-causing anguish and the like - she also gets an ability most iconic - conjuring forth a massive, spectral carriage to assault foes with! The creature is a superb example of the best in mythic monster design - taking all those iconic options and unique signature effects from mythology and making the creature truly distinct. Oh, and the mythic wail of the banshee is thankfully just as lethal as it ought to be!

At CR 12/MR 5, the mythic Boogeyman is a terror to behold as well - quite literally, for non-mythic creatures better gear up - immunity to fear may just disperse...Oh, and have I mentioned the great potential for rejuvenation? If you require more inspiration, combine this with the fluff of 3.5's "Dark tales"-Ravenloft-sourcebook for adventure ideas galore.

In direct comparison, the CR 3/MR 1 mythic faerie dragon feels a bit less iconic - yes, suggestion may be nice, as would be the euphoria-inducing bite, but compared to the former two, it still feels a bit less inspired than it could have been. What about more illusions and similar prankster gambits? Especially since his brethren, the CR 3/ MR 1 Leprechaun with his memory lapse, hideous laughter etc. causing babblings and daze-causing shillelagh proves that the Legendary Games-team can make awesome low CR/MR-creatures with unique mythic signature abilities. Mythic Pixies would be another example here -at CR 5 / MR 2, these fellows can generate flying dust (à la Tinkerbell), illusory decoys and also receive better arrows - cool!

The CR 7/ MR 3 Mythic Green hag is once again back to form - enhancing the fearful cannibalistic notions of the base creature become grand stalkers that also can consume the dead or helpless - a terrifying prospect indeed, even before taking increased coven magic prowess into account - awesome and much closer to what the creature ought to be able to do. At the same CR/ MR, Mythic Redcaps, bitter and blasphemous and full of hatred for thieves, these guys are deranged slayers that neatly tie bleed with the theme of their caps - and if you require inspiration for these fellows beyond the cool abilities they receive, let me recommend "Van Richten's Guide to the Shadow Fey" - another true gem of the 3.5 era that ranks among my favorite fey-related tomes ever. The Will-o'-wisp, at once again CR 7/ MR 3 receives the power to shoot electrical arcs (THANK YOU - Will-o-wisps sans these feel incomplete to me...) and their increased lure options also feel nice, but still - these guys feel like they could have used another ability - while I love that they can eat e.g. rages and effects the like, actually using these to fuel some other abilities would have been the icing on the cake.

Now, sometimes you just want an endgame killer - so what about a CR 28/ MR 10 Jabberwock receive even more deadly options (like tail sweeps), lethal average damage outputs further increased by the option to SKIN GRAPPLED PEOPLE ALIVE and healing resistant wounds - urgh. Ouch. Beautiful, deadly, all I want from such a beast, including an updated fear of vorpal weapons.

The CR 18/ MR 7 Mythic Jubjub Bird may spring attack with full attacks thanks to mythic power and is lethal in its own right - these harbingers of slaughter are NOT to be crossed lightly. Oh, and their shriek actually can kill foes via sonic damage and much like its jabberwock brethren, it features planar acclimatization.

Mythic Unicorns at CR 4/MR 1 receive an aura of purity and receive an increased healing option via their horn, learning to use mythic power to apply mercies. Per se, there is nothing wrong with these fellows, but I still would have loved this to go slightly further - perhaps it's due to Middle Ages Bestiarium correlations assigning the unicorn with the figure of Christ, but I always felt the poor creatures could have used more abilities to represent their unique natures. Perhaps it's also due to the romantic in me still getting a bit teary-eyed at "The Last Unicorn" - I don't know. What I do know is that I prefer this unicorn over the non-mythic one and wished it had gone even further.



EDIT: It seems like my file was, once again, not properly updated on OBS. The revised version that since then has found its way into my claws also sports a true beauty of a statblock - the frumious bandersnatch at CR 23/MR 9. If you thought bandersnatches were bad news - wiat till you have these guys at half hp and they BURST INTO FRIGGIN' FLAMES! The beast's entry spans a massive 2 pages and provides a big bad brutal beast that will send characters (and potentially their players) whimpering!

And now, the creature we've all been waiting for - this installment's unique, new creature, the Boojum Snark at CR 10/ MR 4.- these creatures are part walrus, from the hip downwards look like tentacles of giant squids, live in hermit crab-like shells and can be charmed easier by SOAP. Oh, and their gaze can send you towards the realms of the fey. See, THIS GETS fey; The creature is evocative, weird and the full-page artwork reflects that just as well as the stats.



Conclusion:
Editing and formatting are top-notch, I noticed no significant glitches. Layout adheres to legendary Games' 2-column full-color standard for the Mythic Monster-series and the 2 full page full color original pieces of artwork by Mike Lowe fit awesomely with the aesthetics of other fey-themed Legendary Games-supplements. The pdf has a bookmarked ToC, but not the usual bookmarked navigation help almost all pdfs come with these days, which constitutes quite a comfort detriment in my book. That being said, Mr. Legendary Games Jason Nelson will be fixing these as soon as LG's busy schedule permits and since I do not doubt his integrity in the least, I will let that one rest.

Jason Nelson, Alistair Rigg, Tom Phillips and Benjamin Bruck have delivered quite a fine array of fairy tale creatures straight from the myths - and with quite a less pronounced focus on fey than I would have imagined, I might add. And these creatures feature some of my favorite beings in the genre - which is both a blessing and a curse in this installment. Having researched a lot of these critters, I am hard to surprise regarding the respective tricks they sport and have conversely an exceedingly high expectation - also due to the years upon years of Ravenloft-DMing and gobbling up just about all fey-related books I could get my hands on. That being said - it's HARD to impress me in that regard anymore and I expected this to fall short. It did not. And that should be considered quite an achievement. Some of the beings herein did actually come over with the superb array of options I expected and wanted to see and the weirdness of the new critter falls square into this area - unique, cool, two thumbs up.

On the other hand, while the vast majority of creatures herein adhere to this superb level, here and there one or two creatures fall a bit behind their brethren - they are "only" good, not superb. Combined with the lack of bookmarks, this makes me settle on a final verdict of 5 stars....

EDIT: ...And with bookmarks coming up AND one glorious beast of a bonus crature, this is now well worth a final verdict of 5 stars PLUS seal of approval!

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Monsters: Fairy Tale Creatures
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Treasures of NeoExodus: Gentle Hand of Law (PFRPG)
Publisher: LPJ Design
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/03/2014 05:56:49
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This installment of the Treasures of NeoExodus-series clocks in at 4 pages, 1 page of SRD/editorial, 1/2 a page advertisement, leaving us with 2.5 pages of content, so let's take a look!



The gentle hand of the law is a powerful weapon - steeped in a history that could have stemmed from the tales of real life religious warriors, these beloved weapons, named in honor of the lady commander of the Caneus Empire's high guard - the mace would be a +1 merciful spell-storing heavy mace that also deals dexterity damage on crits and causes targets hit by the critical to drop anything they hold - neat, elegant idea.



The pdf also provides one page of weapon-cards to print/cut out.



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are very good, I noticed no glitches. Layout adheres to LPJr Design's drop-dead-gorgeous 2-column full-color standard and the pdf features a glorious original artwork of the weapon. The pdf comes in a more printer-friendly full-color version as well and while both pdfs have no bookmarks, at this length they need none.



Author Jeff Lee weaves a compelling yarn and provides a nice weapon with a unique bonus ability - well done, nothing to complain, my final verdict will be 5 stars.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Treasures of NeoExodus: Gentle Hand of Law  (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Feats of Abjuration
Publisher: Fat Goblin Games
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/30/2014 06:30:28
An Endzeitgeist.com review

All right, you know the drill - 1 page front cover, 1 page SRD, 1 page content, so let#s take a look!

9 feats for abjuration are provided, so what do they do?

-Abjurant Flux: Prevent the decrease to perceive abjuration spells in close proximity to another, making masking energies easier. Nice, if very specific.
-Abjurer's Abnegation: +2 points of damage for damage-dealing abjurations.
-Arcane Ward: Sacrifice a prepared spell to get the effects of an improved, scaling shield as a supernatural (thus non-dispellable) ability.
-Circles of Resistance: Protection and Magic Circles also grant SR vs alignment-based spells.
-Guarded Spell (Metamagic): +1 spell level allows the spell to cast while taking the total defense option if casting duration is not too long. AWESOME idea.
-Overwhelming Dispel: Add spell focus and its greater cousin to dispel checks; Deal spell-level damage to target if you dispel his spell.
-Resistant Abjurer: Gain resistance 1 to cold, electricity and fire 1 when under the effects of abjurations with save: harmless. Too weak for my tastes.
-Warding Blast: Make arcane blast powered by your ward - expend shield for deadly blast.
-Warding Shield: Make arcane shield powered by your ward - expend the ward shield for better arcane shield.

Conclusion:
Editing and formatting are very good, I didn't notice any significant glitches. Layout adheres to Abandoned Arts 2-column, landscape style and the pdf has neither bookmarks, nor artwork and needs neither at this length.
Daron Woodson has delivered quite an array of interesting feats here - while not all are eligible, some indeed can be considered awesome and uncommon regarding their mechanics. While not all rock, the vast majority is cool - hence, my final verdict will clock in at 4.5 stars, rounded up to 5 for the purpose of this platform.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Feats of Abjuration
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Feats of Conjuration
Publisher: Fat Goblin Games
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/30/2014 06:29:55
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This installment of the "More Feats"-series is 3 pages long, 1 page front cover, 1 page SRD, 1 page content, this time with 9-conjuration-themed feats!

-Arcane Armorer: Increase armor bonus granted by conjuration (creation) by +1.

-Barrier Spell (Metamagic): When casting spells with a casting duration of 1 round or longer, get 3x spell level SR and the same bonus to AC. +1 spell level.

-Bolstered Health: gain hit points equal to 3x the highest level conjuration (healing) spell you can cast.

-Channel Health: When casting conjuration (healing), roll one die twice and take the higher result. In exchange, become fatigued for 2x spell level rounds. When already fatigued, become exhausted and take non-lethal damage.

-Dimensional Striker: When using dimensional savant to flank yourself, deal +1d6 damage to each flanked opponent. Nice one!

-Dramatic Teleportation: Impose a -4 penalty on foes witnessing you teleport for 1 minute. That one's nasty when combined with teleporting items due to the lack of saves...not too keen on it, but still ok.

-Persistent Summons: Your summoned creatures can't be dispelled by caster levels lower than yours. Cool feat...but take into account the repercussions for your campaign world's logic. Can become problematic.

-Seething Summons: When conjuring creatures while under the effects of a rage, your summons enter the fray as affected by a rage spell. Obviously requires moment of clarity. An ok, if a bit weak feat.

-Wonderworker: When casting divine spells of 6th level or higher, you create a vast display tha can be perceived up to a MILE away and fills an area of 50 ft. times spell level centered on the target of the spell. Allies are inspired, foes demoralized for 1 round and adversaries of HD less than the spell level diametrically opposed to your deity's alignment instead become shaken for 1 round - all sans saves. Per se, a cool idea - but the wonder will turn old fast. the vast visibility range is problematic in my book and the lack of saves is not something I'd enjoy - a longer duration and instead a more limited application could have made this work better.

Conclusion:
Editing and formatting are top-notch, I didn't notice any significant glitches. Layout adheres to Abandoned Art's 2-column no-frills standard and the pdf has no bookmarks, but needs none at this length.

Daron Woodson has created some unconventional feats herein and the approach to how the respective feats utilize spell-levels should be considered rather interesting. That being said, I also have the notion that the feats tend to be a tad bit off on the balance scale -not by much, mind you, but still - some feel a bit weak, whereas others (especially Persistent Summons) can alter the internal logic of your whole campaign. While not broken per se, I hence can't rate this the full 5 stars and instead will settle on a final verdict of 4 stars - a solid pdf, though one that should see close scrutiny by the prospective DM.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Feats of Conjuration
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 31 to 45 (of 1542 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates