DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Gemerator
Publisher: Tangent Games
by Matt L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/15/2014 11:41:04
I have had this product for some time now. I have always liked it, but I never realized how valuable it was until my most recent campaign. In our current game the players have discovered an old abandoned mine. It is rich with raw minerals, gems and ores. The Gemerator has made my life so much easier as a GM in this campaign it's not funny. It is an excellent product for the gamers who want more flavor.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gemerator
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Valiant Universe RPG Quick Start Rules: Featuring Unity
Publisher: Catalyst Game Labs
by Matt L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/15/2014 11:02:14
Have you seen the new quick start rules for Valiant Universe RPG? I have. They made me reminisce on some of my early RPG days. In high school we role-played like it was our life. I can't tell you how much D&D we played. We also played Marvel Super Heroes, Rifts, and even a little bit of DC mingled its way in. We had countless night where we would sneak out of our respective houses and meet up to play in a tent. Yes, I said a tent. Which didn't do so well in the winter, but we managed to find a barn. There wasn't any heat at first but we made it work.

Valiant Universe RPG isn't storytelling, it's more like dating the story.

Read the full review here http://gamer-goggles.com/?p=8207

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Valiant Universe RPG Quick Start Rules: Featuring Unity
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Heavy Gear Blitz! Forged in Fire - Southern Field Guide
Publisher: Dream Pod 9
by Matt L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/08/2013 13:13:38
Forged in Fire takes the path of Perfect Storm. It contains an intense amount of history about the South while bringing you a great amount of graphics and blue prints. The Vehicle compendium makes it easy to upgrade your standard load outs for any vehicle or gear; it displays a picture for each. The army builder section displays each unit the way you will need to build it - right down to picturing the number of infantry that belong on each base. The only draw back to the pdf is that the rich graphics slow down my processor a little bit. If that is the price of a job well done I'll take it. You can read my full review at http://gamer-goggles.com/?p=6095.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heavy Gear Blitz! Forged in Fire - Southern Field Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Black Salt: The Origin #1
Publisher: Ratti Entertainment
by Matt L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/05/2012 22:12:25
I have to admit that the art of this comic book isn't on the same level as Marvel and DC, but I thoroughly enjoyed the read. This issue sets the stage for the rest of the story. That is it is almost all plot that is staging you for the dynamic character development that you would expect from a comic book. So While I am not happy with the fact that this issue was primarily plot, I see the character development right around the corner.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Black Salt: The Origin #1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

d∞ (“d-Infinity”) Volume #4: Dark Future
Publisher: Skirmisher Publishing
by Matt L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/05/2012 22:02:50
In this D-Infinity we have a lot of good material. I found the interview with John Simmons to be enlightening because I knew next to nothing about Comicpalooza. Now I want to go in 2013. But I would have to say the Alien Ship layout is my favorite part. I have already used the design in both Sci-fi and fantasy settings. The Four winds bar gives GM's some simple atmosphere for any campaign, including adventure hooks. My favorite part of this article has to be The Biology of a Fantasy Setting. Which basically gets world builders to look at the world as a living growing being. HUH? Does your world only have superficial creatures? Or do you know what your Jckelope eats?

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
d∞ (“d-Infinity”)  Volume #4: Dark Future
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Judge Dredd
Publisher: Mongoose
by Matt L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/05/2012 20:16:29
Judge Dredd is an RPG System that is fairly straight forward. It has only a couple modifications to the Traveller system. It does assume that you know how to play Traveller. What you get in this 274 page book? An in depth look at Mega City One followed by a very extensive character creation system. This book focuses on Judges giving you a complete package; everything from training to gear to the justice system. So is it worth your nickel? Yes, if you are interested in Judge Dredd. If you play Traveller and are looking for an alternate world this would be an easy conversion.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Judge Dredd
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

d∞ (“d-Infinity”) Volume #3: Children of the Night
Publisher: Skirmisher Publishing
by Matt L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/22/2012 09:35:31
Wondering what is in this magazine? D- Infinity is a throw back to the good ole days of Dragon, when there was something for every gamer. In this issue you can find detailed information on surviving a Zombie invasion. Matt Owen has shared a "Field Guide" that is a good reference to the things you will need; food, shelter, fighting skills, and life after the apocalypse. It is a quick guide so if you are a veteran it might be less than you need. It is perfect for the rookie zombie hunter.

In every issue there is a game that you can play. This issue features The Search for Bigfoot. These games are always short and quick, the type of game you would play during lunch. This game is a tile game where you basically race to meet the win conditions on the tiles. The first player to do so wins.

My favorite article is about electronic map making tools. Thea article compares commercial and free mapping tools. Most of which I didn't know existed. I am now enlightened.

There is a Cthuhlu article as well. I didn't read it. I have never played so I will most likely only be lost in the words.

If you have ever been to Con on the Cob you have to buy this issue just to read the interview with Andy Hopp. It is out of this world.

There is a lot more meat to this issue, like how to make teeth as props for your game. I am glad that this is my copy. The first no school day my kids are making necklaces.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
d∞ (“d-Infinity”) Volume #3: Children of the Night
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Heavy Gear Blitz! Perfect Storm - NuCoal Field Guide
Publisher: Dream Pod 9
by Matt L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/08/2012 12:50:14
This was my first Heavy Gear field guide. You can exxpect the usual pleasantries of background, new history, characters and the force list restrictions. So, what makes the field guide different. It is the first field guide to display visuals of the units. Page 88 of the guid ahs an exellent example of what I am talking about. It is the Sampson armored infantry platoon. When you look at a squad you see waht you are supposed to see on the table. Each possible build has 1 Sampson pictured and 2 rows of infantry. look closely at the infantry. They are broken up by their allocation for their bases with each row being one combined model. I love this it has made building forces for every faction a lot easier.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heavy Gear Blitz! Perfect Storm - NuCoal Field Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Heavy Gear Blitz! Locked & Loaded - Rulebook Rev 1.1
Publisher: Dream Pod 9
by Matt L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/08/2012 12:08:04
HG Blitz is the basic rule book for Heavy Gear. You will need the Heavy Gear Field Manual to go a long with this if you purchase the book. The book is laid out fairly well with a lot of diagrams and pictures for you to reference. The rules section has been replaced by the field manual. But that is OK most of this book contains the background information on Terra Nova. It also hosts the information you need to build most of the armies you are allowed to play in Heavy Gear. If I didn't purchase this product I would not have found a new miniatures game to play.

HG has some unique approaches to their game mechanics. The first is Margin of Success (MoS). Basically players roll a number of dice equal to their skill level and take the highest die roll. Then they compare the roll and subtract to get the difference. The difference determines failure or success. I think it is one of the best dice mechanics out there.

The second, is it is an action point system. That is each model or combined model has x actions. Actions can be used at any time during your movement. It requires one action to move at top speed.

The third, is it is a game of combined arms. Your choices vary from list to list but you get to choose from infantry, gears, and tanks.

The final unique item is command points. Command points add a whole new element to the game that I am yet to experience.

What I really like about Heavy Gear is that the game is truly about the tactics you employ. You do need to have a good understanding of what is in play and what the terrain allows for, but the good news about that is it is the same for everyone.

We have a lot of videos on Heavy gear over at gamer-goggles.com feel free to check them out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Heavy Gear Blitz! Locked & Loaded - Rulebook Rev 1.1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mistborn Adventure Game Digital Edition
Publisher: Crafty Games
by Matt L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/21/2012 18:55:59
Mistborn is an RPG that is set in an already defined world, as many of you already know. I will not spend a lot of time going over the world details. I will focus more on the game mechanics here. You will be able to read my full review at gamer-goggles.com.

Crafty games has managed to create a completely new RPG system for this fantasy steampunk genre. The system is a d6 system that uses a pool of dice. The roll that a player makes can be augmented by various traits and skills. As with almost all RPG's the task you are trying to accomplish determines the difficulty as defined by the narrator (GM).

Another cool aspect in the Mistborn Game is that you are encouraged to describe what ever you want in great detail. This is something that should be done in the fashion that each group of gamers accepts with in their session.

The Magic system is truly unique and is very detailed. There is a complete, history, methodology, and mechanic system for each “school” of magic. This allows players to truly explore them and develop characters in several different ways, giving each a lot of flavor.

Character creation is well dummy proof. I do not believe I have seen a system that has so much detail on character creation. There is in fact so much detail you actually have to try and make a mistake. The methodology is not that different from other systems. That is powers and attributes. Of course you can focus on a certain area, doing this will weaken other areas. The character generation system kind of has the role of a character built in to it.

I like Mistborn. I think crafty did a darn good job creating a system that that is unique. The draw back I see is that it is unique. By creating a unique system role players will not just be able to pick it up and play a game. Again you can read the full review at http://gamer-goggles.com/?p=3861

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mistborn Adventure Game Digital Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates