DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Shades of Grey
Publisher: Occult Moon
by James D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/25/2012 04:49:48
Disclosure: I helped edit this.
At a short two pages there's not a lot to get your teeth into but the concept of following fate and bending fate with decisions to shape the adventures of a character is a good one. This is bare-bones but excellent food for thought and a buck isn't much for an evening or two's entertainment. It could do with some more guidelines and a bit more of a hook to see where you stand within the game and what you do, but that could be addressed by a follow up blog post or similar.

Worth it for the ideas.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shades of Grey
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Toys for the Sandbox 01: Apothecary
Publisher: Occult Moon
by James D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/11/2012 16:44:21
A solid start but one that needs a lot of polish. The idea of presenting what amounts to a 'plug and play' piece of colour to slot into your world is a good one and this come with plot hooks and adventure seeds, rumours and so on that give it a bit of extra punch. All that's really lacking is the presentation and with a bit more work and a bit more polish this could form into a very worthy line for games of all kinds. Hope to see more with a greater, professional touch in the future.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Toys for the Sandbox 01: Apothecary
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Zombie art pack
Publisher: Black Hand Source
by James D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/23/2009 02:59:40
Sometimes a little cartoony but overall the quality is very nice indeed with good variety.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Zombie art pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Zombie Art Pack
Publisher: Misfit Studios
by James D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/23/2009 02:59:06
Very mixed quality here, not quite up to the snuff that the cover implies but useful nonetheless.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Zombie Art Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Image Portfolio 1.07 Fantasy Headquarters
Publisher: LPJ Design
by James D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/23/2009 02:57:16
Very nice, but of fairly limited, specific use. More folios on a similar bend with more variety and with more going on 'in shot' would be great.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Image Portfolio 1.07 Fantasy Headquarters
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Image Portfolio 1.06 Fantasy Cityscape
Publisher: LPJ Design
by James D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/23/2009 02:56:33
Very useful, in fact invaluable, but fantasy is such a broad sweep that a bit more variety and imagination would have made it even better. Fantasy (and fantastical) cityscapes need to turn up more in fantasy clip art, characters you can get, setting is much harder to find.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Image Portfolio 1.06 Fantasy Cityscape
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Choice and Blood
Publisher: LPJ Design
by James D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/22/2007 00:00:00
There's, obviously, a lot of controversy surrounding this product which just goes to show how much of a hot-button issue it is. There's been a lot of criticism and hoo-hah on the net over the product without ever having seen it. This, I think, says everything about it.

d20 Modern isn't my system of choice and I don't think it particularly suited to games that delve into these sorts of issues but, nonetheless, it is extremely well written and handled sensitively.

I should like to see more products from this writer on other political and protest issues, or perhaps a larger more complete product handling the tactics and culture of protest as a whole. I have a feeling they'd do well writing up anti-capitalist and ecoterrorist groups, anarchist black-blocs and others.

Overall I rate the product a 4, but I'm giving it a 5 for having balls and for pleasantly surprising me in terms of quality.


LIKED: The product is created from a pro-choice stance but, coming from the UK where this controversy is practically unknown, that tends to agree with my viewpoint. Even so I think the product is quite fair and balanced and has good utility.

As I said, I'm from the UK so a lot of this is alien to me outside of second hand news reports. Getting a summary of the US history of what has gone on around this and the lengths people go to to protest either way, especially from a gamer's perspective was extremely useful.

Even the parts I was dubious about, such as the prestige class, have been handled maturely and fairly and I'm pleasantly surprised. There's a lot in here that can be used more widely in street/protest and medical based games that have nothing to do with abortion.

DISLIKED: The product's second half is quite unfocussed. This does increase the material's utility beyond the narrow focus of the abortion issue but also waters down the product a little. The artwork is spartan while they layout is good, but it is also a little too obviously influenced by GTA.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Choice and Blood
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Image Portfolio 1.22 Science Fiction
Publisher: LPJ Design
by James D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/31/2006 00:00:00
Hope there'll be more on this line, some ships and vehicles maybe or some SF cityscapes or buildings.


LIKED: Good art, better quality than many previous image portfolios.

DISLIKED: The work is both grungy and somewhat anime inspired, like a mix between Cyberpunk or old 2300 pieces and the outsize weapons and tech of somewhat outlandish manga. That may restrict it's use somewhat.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Image Portfolio 1.22 Science Fiction
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

ERG001: Portrait Package - Full rights
Publisher: Eastern Raider Games
by James D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/26/2006 00:00:00
The work here is far better than the price tag implies. You're getting access to the work of an accomplished artist with a subtle, smooth, european style to his work far superior to most other stock and clip art available. Where you'll use other work because it is cheap, you'll use this because it is good.

I hope this is followed up soon with some themed art entries for Science Fiction, Horror, Fantasy and others.


LIKED: A wide selection (taster) of pieces all with some utility.

DISLIKED: Not enough are high enough resolution to use in print.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ERG001: Portrait Package - Full rights
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
I thank you for your kind words. The worst problem with these images that they are "leftovers", I mean: copyright left at me, they are made for fun only or for some projects never finished. Some were made to electronic (computer game) use, or for desktops. I apologize for this. The next package will be aimed for e-publishers or pod publishers all images being higher resolution, but keeping the price as it is. Thank you!
Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates