DriveThruRPG.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!









Back
Adventurer Conqueror King System
 
$9.99
Average Rating:4.4 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
11 5
4 1
2 1
1 0
0 0
Adventurer Conqueror King System
Click to view
Adventurer Conqueror King System
Publisher: Autarch
by William M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/01/2013 18:48:03
Anyone familiar with original D&D or any of its more recent clones will naturally know the gist of the system from the start, there are a few surprises within this tome however. It uses an ascending AC system that is a little different than usual. Proficiencies offer a grab bag of skill and feat like abilities that don't weight the game down (plus they are optional). There is a hard cap on character level at 14. Demi-human classes may have a lower cap, but it is less of a handicap when its only a handful of levels at most. High level play is VERY much meant to be about lords and their domains, of which every class has its own unique take.

If I were to ask for more out of ACKS it would be that it included an example domain to get you playing as soon as possible. That and maybe a little dungeon module.

All in all, if you enjoy OSR style gaming there isn't any reason not to give ACKS a look over for ten bucks. If you like enjoy it, the pdf has a coupon for those ten bucks off of the hard back if you just have to have it in good old dead tree. I'm definitely considering it myself.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventurer Conqueror King System
Publisher: Autarch
by Victor J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/18/2013 03:47:31
Captures the feeling of earlier games and presents it well for a modern audience. Well-written, nicely laid out, and with artwork perfect for the tone. Highly recommended.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Adventurer Conqueror King System
Publisher: Autarch
by Roger R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/05/2013 16:34:50
Really well thought out, internally consistent. Brings an element of realism and verisimilitude that's lacking in some of the other more fantastical settings. I like it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventurer Conqueror King System
Publisher: Autarch
by john h. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/03/2013 07:55:06
I really loved this game,
He's part of the reason i turned an OSR game now. Maybe the system is not revolutionnary but it's easy to grasp with few interesting things, like the way the proficiencies are working, that add a lot to the game.
It's really oriented to the later part of the game, with high level character being lords of a domain and a really good economic building system.
I think it's a very good retroclone game that worth the try

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventurer Conqueror King System
Publisher: Autarch
by Christopher C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/02/2012 08:55:12
Well put together and designed, but I still have and use all my first edition AD&D books, so there was really nothing new or revolutionary about this game system. Basically, it's more accessible than the original books, which is good, but if you are already playing AD&D (1e) or a clone that you are happy with then this is not a must buy. However, it's well written and there are some good charts and stuff in the back for the 'late game' when the characters are no longer your typical adventurers looking to make it big. I think my disappointment is because of all the great things I've heard about this system said stuff like "I'll never go back to any other system!" and "It's what RPGs were always meant to be!" and when looking through it there was nothing new to me.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Adventurer Conqueror King System
Publisher: Autarch
by Michael B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/03/2012 13:50:22
Adventurer Conqueror King System or ACKS as it's becoming known is one of those pleasant surprises you always hope for when you download a PDF, (in particular a new ruleset) from RPGNow. The key to this system is present in it's title. The design is such that you begin your characters life as a budding Adventurer, seeking fame, fortune and the like. As you gain those, you graduate on to what might be called a conqueror as you begin to tame and settle borderlands or even conquer existing domains. This leads to a growth phase where much of the game revolves (or rather, CAN revolve) around building a mighty kingdom.

But what does all this mean? Well, to put it simply, Alex Macris and crew have done a wonderful job of adapting Labyrinth Lord to a game where dungeon craws slowly get replaced with something of a SimCity/Civilization ruleset. And, to my pleasant surprise, it seems to work really well.

The game has support for 14 levels and honestly I'd say that's all you need. It has about a dozen classes, include the 4 core classes and some interesting non-core. Most align nicely with what you'd expect but a couple are interesting takes on iconic fantasy archetypes. For example, the Blade Dancer, a female human cleric type class has a lot of interesting potential. Yes, I did say that correctly. Race, (in this case, human) and even gender can be tied to class. This means a bit of class bloat potential (elven cleric/dwarven cleric/human cleric/being 3 classes etc) but it also means that they can have a singularly simple and elegant proficiency system that allows each class to customize their character. The foundation of this is having 2 proficiency pools. You get a class pool of proficiencies (skills and feats) and a general pool. There is a lot of overlap between the two. So lets say you want to play a fighter who also likes to perform. Rather than being forced to play a Bard, you can take the Perform proficiency because it exists in both the Bard class proficiency pool as well as the General Proficiency pool. You get to choose several proficiencies, some from each pool at various points in your career. This allows you to double down on your class by taking class proficiencies, even from the General pool or to be a jack of all trades by taking as many non-class proficiencies as your heart desires.

Summary: If you want to start slowly with a serious world building ruleset where total domination is the ultimate goal, this is the place to do it. You'll get 5-8 levels of more or less comfortable Labyrinth Lord style gameplay (including VERY simply conversion of LL modules and content) and then move into the medieval equivalent of Civilization the RPG at your own pace, or not at all if the LL spin off seem appropriate. The really nice part is that the end game varies greatly based on class. If you are a fighter type, you'll want to start a domain and take over towns and cities and tax the goods traded within your borders. If you're a cleric type, you'll want to start a church and build a massive congregation which will grant you increasing power from your deity. If you're an Explorer (think: Ranger) you'll want to build a Wilderness Outpost and tame the borderlands to increase the size of a Kingdom. Elves build Fastnesses, Dwarves - Vaults, Thieves and Assassins - Hideouts and Guilds. The potential here is immense. I can only imagine the bedlam that might ensue as a Cleric starts trying to build a church in the same town where an Assassin is attempting to build his hideout. The opportunity for epic gamesmanship unlike we're used to in typical fantasy RPGs is staggering.

They're currently developing an Advanced Compendium (as of 5/4/12). It looks to include quite a few new classes and a couple of new races along with over 100 new templates, which is the ACKS way of delivering rapid character design and customization. Want your Fighter to be like Lancelot? There's probably a template for that. It will auto-assign the proficiencies so that you get the feel without having to read every single one and compare them. BUT if you're a munchkin who just loves doing that, the system supports you nicely as well.

My hat is off to Alex, Greg and Tavis.

Also of note: After ordering the PDF, I decided to grab a hardcopy as well. There is a discount on the hardcopy with a coupon code found in the PDF, making the PDF essentially FREE! That's a great deal right there. Lastly, the forums, while not overly abundant with traffic, are quite friendly and the principals frequent them almost daily so if you are one who likes to engage directly with the designers, this system is perfect for you.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventurer Conqueror King System
Publisher: Autarch
by Dominique C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/19/2012 04:05:04
I bought AKCS mostly out of curiosity. It's before all an "OSR" game (i.e. old school renaissance rpg), a simulacrum of the basic/classic older D&D rpg. Where Labyrinth Lord is a "clone" intent on reproducing basic old D&D faithfully, AKCS is a simulacrum, meaning it's that old game but with more modern, streamlined game mechanics, and differences.

The main difference is that AKCS uses the same mechanic as saving throws for combat and skill checks (and others things). I must say it works very well, and is a welcome simplification. That is, for each class level there is a target number that a character must equal or exceed with a d20 roll (to which he adds his bonuses and the target's ascending AC) to hit his opponent. I like this very much.

There is 12 classes, including of course the core Fighter, Thief, Mage and Cleric. Elves and dwarves get two classes each. Well, I am a little dubious about the dwarf classes, that provide even less abilities than they did in the original D&D, and are thus very much alike a Fighter and Cleric. There is also 4 variant classes derived from the core: Assassin, Bard, Bladedancer and Explorer. Here also, these classes are rather bland. Bladedancer for example is very much a cleric with little difference. Explorer replaces the Halfling class from BD&D. However, the good point is that classes can be customized with adding proficiencies, that are derived from 2e NWP and 3e Feats.

Then, unlike all the clones and simulacrums I have read before, AKCS provide extensive rules for castle and dominion management, ritual magic, and much more. All these pages are really a good addition that will be useful to players and GMs IMO. I won't detail them here, since I only flipped through these pages so far, but I am glad to see them included.

Lastly about art: it must be noted that AKCS is lavishly illustrated, which enliven the whole work and makes it pleasant to read.

If I were to run or play in a Classic-Basic D&D game, AKCS is the iteration I would want to use without a doubt.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 7 (of 7 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates